What do you mean you’re a witch?

For as long as I can remember I have always pictured God as a woman. So you can see how when Wicca and Paganism was introduced to me it just kind of made sense. I had this “aha” moment that made every blasphemous thought I ever had in church as a child make total sense. No I don’t hate on Christianity or any other form of a Christ based faith. I just acknowledge that it is not meant for me. So where does that leave me? What is a witch?

This term varies broadly from person to person. Paganism and Wicca is so diverse that it’s difficult to put a blanket term over it. So I can enlighten you on my own personal version. I believe that like most things in the world there are a male and female counterpart to everything God included. I like the ritualistic aspects that come with the faith in general but also understand that the rituals are not necessary. I like to be in tune with nature and acknowledge that without it we wouldn’t have a means to survive. I prefer to practice alone because I find it takes away from the meditative aspects when others are present.

No I do not believe in the devil. I do pray like everyone else, but I pray to both the Lord and Lady (God and Goddess) I haven’t adopted any specific deity to put in each part. Why? Well this is where my beliefs get a little complicated. I believe in a higher power but at the same time I’m unsure if adopting another faiths deity is what I want to do. I have heard that over time some people are given a sign that points them in the right direction. Time will tell I suppose.

I do not openly out myself as a witch on a daily, weekly, or even monthly basis. It’s not something I feel needs to be broadcast. I easily blend in with the world around me. You wouldn’t guess just by spotting me on the street or having a conversation with me. We aren’t all eclectic and bizarre all the time. Most of us keep that at home.

Yes I’ve been asked to go to church on occasion. I don’t reveal myself in that manner either nor do I lie. I simply tell them that I prefer to practice my faith at home and that I don’t believe a physical building is necessary to practice one’s faith. Usually this will pacify the person and they will say something like “At least you have faith in, God.”

 

Leave a Reply

